President's Message

Mon, 12/19/2016 - 08:00
by Jarri Sutton, CPCU, CIC, ARM

Our Chapter had our Annual Good Works Luncheon on 12-7-16 on the boat at the Bahia.  It was a beautiful setting for the final event of the year.


We ended our season of giving by raising a total of $1200 which was matched by our chapter bringing our total donation to Promises to Kids to $2400. We more than doubled our contributions from past years. We appreciate your support of Promises to Kids through our Chapter’s good works and season of giving. 


We presented two awards for 2016.  

1.)Company of Year Award to Wawanesa General Insurance Company for their support of the CPCU designation and their ongoing support of our chapter through employee involvement and sponsorships. Thank you and Congratulations to Wawanesa.

2.)Volunteer Service Award to Arthur Flitner who is new to our area and has embraced our Chapter by coming to board meetings, teaching a ‘Lunch and Learn’, contributing to Promises2Kids and just being a great all around source of knowledge and information to our board. Thank you and Congratulations to Arthur!  


We also honored the memory of AJ Romero, who was killed in a tragic car accident last month. AJ brought such youth and vitality to our meetings and was our enthusiastic photographer at most of our events. AJ was the recipient of our Volunteer Service Award in 2015 and we have renamed this award starting in 2017 to the “AJ Romero Memorial Volunteer Service Award”.   


Our officers for 2017 were also installed by our outgoing Governor, Jim Taylor. Due to our 2016 President being transferred out of our area mid-year, many officers will remain for 2017. We also added 4 new Director positions, all filled by new designees. Your 2017 board is a combination of experienced members and new members, which should bring a dynamic approach to 2017.


Here is your 2017 Board:

President – Jari Sutton (AFCO)

President Elect – Jason Hopkins (Wawanesa)

Vice President – Misako Froehler (ICW)

Immediate Past President – Tammi Lacy (Wawanesa)

Secretary – Janice Romero (ICW)

Treasurer – OPEN

Director – Rodney Brennan (Liberty Mutual)

Director – Mike Esposito (Wawanesa)

Director – Stacey Jensen (Wawanesa)

Director – Matt Olszweski (Wawanesa)

Director – Natalie Sherod (Liberty Mutual)

Director – Blake Ricks (USAA)


I thank all of our members for your support and involvement in 2016 and look forward to working with you again in 2017 as your Chapter President. As always – our board meetings are open to all and we welcome all of our members to attend. Our first meeting of 2017 will be held on Saturday, January 7th, at the Rio Vista Office Center lower level conference center room – 8885 Rio San Diego Drive starting at 9 a.m. There after our meetings are held at that same location from 11:30 to 1:00 p.m. on the first Wednesday of every month. Just let me know if you will be joining us so I can order the food.


If we don’t see you at a board meeting – we hope to see you at one of our member events throughout the year and any of our board members are open to your ideas to help us bring you the most value for your membership. 


Happy Holidays to you and yours. See you next year!


Jari L Sutton

2016 -2017 President

San Diego Chapter of the Society of CPCU

Comments (2)

I'm also looking forward to 2016. Happy New Year! Our chapter is always looking for new members to help with committees, and I hope you can join us at our January Planning Meeting. Janice Romero, CPCU, AIM 2016 Secretary, San Diego CPCU Society Chapter
3 years 8 months ago

This should be a fun and exciting year under Jari's leadership. Looking forward to it. Please get involved with the Chapter. Rodney Brennan CPCU
3 years 6 months ago